Horsin’ Around Thursdays: The A Circuit

Horsin' Around ThursdaysWelcome back to Horsin’ Around Thursdays! Before I get to today’s book, I have exciting news related to the upcoming release of my young adult equestrian thriller, Trail of Secrets. I’ve been working my way through the final edits and, a few days ago, I even got a sneak peek at the cover. I absolutely love it! Unfortunately, it may be several more weeks before I can reveal the cover to the outside world. Because patience is not one of my virtues, I’m keeping myself happily entertained by reading other people’s horse-themed books.

This week it’s all about horse showing at the highest level–The A Circuit. In case you’ve never heard of The A Circuit four book Series, co-written by Catherine Hapka and professional equestrian, Georgina Bloomberg, prepare to indulge in a guilty pleasure.

A CircuitSummary (from Amazon.com):  The A Circuit is the top of the top when it comes to horse showing. It’s a world with its own rules and super-privileged lifestyles. Teens employ private tutors so they can travel the circuit all year showing horses that cost as much as some people’s homes.Tommi, Kate, and Zara are all elite competitors on the circuit, but they come from totally different backgrounds. Tommi is a billionaire heiress trying to prove she has real talent (not just deep bank accounts). Kate puts the working in working student-every win has been paid for with hours of cleaning stalls. She’s used to the grueling schedule, but Fitz, the barn’s resident hot guy, is about to become a major distraction. And then there’s Zara. She’s the wild child of a famous rock star, but she’s ready to take riding seriously. Can a party girl really change her ways?Readers who enjoy peeking into the elite world of series of Gossip Girl or The A-List will feel right at home in this new series with its friendships, drama, and privilege set against a backdrop of competitive horseback riding.

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens (May 24, 2011)

Recommended Reading Age: 12-17

If you crave a book filled with drama, horses, and a glimpse into how the “other half” lives, then pack your beach bag with The A Circuit for a fun, summer read!

My next post will be in two weeks because I’ll be off on a road trip with my family for a while. One of our destinations will be the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, Kentucky. Can’t wait to report back on the experience!

Leave a comment